Conclusion of 2014 Cross Country Ski Championships


Photo Credit to Max Brisben of Hollow View Photography

The Junior National Cross Country Ski Championships at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vermont concluded today, with men’s and women’s 3X3 kilometer relay races. Winning teams consisted of:

FU16        Brooke Dunnagan, Anna Gibson, Leah Lange TEAM INTERMOUNTAIN
FU18        Zoe Snow, Katherine Ogden, Julia Kern TEAM NEW ENGLAND
FU20        Hannah Benson, Kelsey Phinney, Heidi Halverson TEAM NEW ENGLAND

MU16        Max Polito, Peter Wolter, Zach Williams TEAM INTERMOUNTAIN
MU18        John Farr, Joe Bue, Thomas O’Hara TEAM ALASKA
MU20        Jack Schrupp, Jack Hegman, Cole Morgan TEAM NEW ENGLAND

Vermont skier Katherine Ogden, from the Stratton Mountain School, racked up three wins,  finishing first in both under 18 women’s classic and freestyle races, then again as a member of  the women’s 3X3k relay team.  Five other skiers recorded two wins each.

Bill Koch, the sole American to win an Olympic medal in cross country skiing, was on hand to present awards on this final day of competition.

Kristina von Trapp Frame, head of the Organizing Committee, expressed her gratitude to all: “This championship event lived up to all our expectations.  All the races were great for the big crowds cheering their heroes on. And so many generous volunteers made this week run like clockwork.  I can’t begin to thank all the people who were a part of this wonderful experience for these deserving youngsters.  We can’t wait to see many of them in the next Olympic games.”